Early Years Foundation Stage

Hello and welcome to Owls! Below you will find some information about the learning that happens in our Early Years Foundation Stage and some other useful bits. Please email the office if you have any further questions: admin@lambslane.wokingham.sch.uk 


Click here to meet the Early Years Foundation Stage Team


Areas of Learning

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum is separated into 7 areas of learning. These are used to shape the learning, play, activities and experiences that the pupils at Lambs Lane are exposed to. Throughout the year, we encourage parents to support us in gathering evidence to show how their child is developing in each of these areas.

Guiding Principles

The teaching and learning that happens in the early years is shaped by four key guiding principles. These are:

  • every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured
  • children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships
  • children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers
  • children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

We pride ourselves on being an inclusive setting and ensure that all children develop characteristics of effective learning. 

Find out about what we will be learning in the Owls below: